ATOC Council and Board

The ATOC Council is made up of representatives from full members of the association. The ATOC Board is elected from ATOC Council representatives.

Together, the Board and Council have two key roles:

  1. to give members a place to come together to oversee the operation of ATOC activities, all of which involve train companies working together to find more efficient and cost effective ways of operating their businesses, and enhance the benefits to passengers of the UK’s national rail network
  2. to shape national debate and influence the policy agenda for trains and the railways more widely by projecting a collective voice for members


Board members

Vernon Barker - Managing Director, UK Rail Division, FirstGroup
Vernon's biography

Dominic Booth - Managing Director, Abellio UK
Dominic's biography

Andrew Chivers - Managing Director, National Express Rail
Andrew's biography

Roger Cobbe - Policy Director, Arriva Trains
Roger's biography

Alistair Gordon - CEO, Keolis Group UK
Alistair's biography

Michael Holden - Non-executive Chairman, East Coast
Michael's biography

David Horne - Managing Director, East Midlands Trains
David's biography

Jeremy Long - Chief Executive Officer, European Business of MTR Corporation
Jeremy's biography

David Statham - Managing Director, Southeastern

Phil Whittingham - Chief Executive, Virgin Trains